Shared Settings and Secrets

Shared settings and secrets allow users with Org Admin roles provide a more secure means to store and reuse data by doing the following:

  • Shared Settings allow you to share the same value in several places within the Tetra Data Platform (TDP).
  • Secrets remove hard-coded credentials from code and do not store credentials in the application. They replace stored credentials with a runtime call to the AWS Secrets Manager service. Secrets retrieve credentials dynamically. You should consider using a secret if you want to specify connection details of a database or service (for example: server name, IP address, and port number).

Access the Shared Settings Page

To access the Shared Settings page, do the following:

  1. Sign in to the TDP as a user with an Org Admin role.
  2. In the left navigation menu, choose Administration.
  3. Choose Shared Settings. The Shared Settings page appears.
1852

Shared Settings

Shared Settings Page Information

The following information appears on the Shared Settings page.

Field NameDescription
NameLists the names of the shared settings.
ValueLists the value of the shared settings (unless it is a secret). Secrets indicate how many times they have been edited.
Last ModifiedIndicates when the shared item was last modified.
Last Modified ByIndicates which user last modified the shared setting.
UsagesIndicates whether the shared setting is currently being used as well as how many usages it has.

Manage Secrets

You can manage secrets on the Shared Settings page by doing any of the following.

Add a Secret

To add a secret, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, select Add Secret. The Add a New Secret dialog appears.

  2. In the Add a New Secret dialog, enter the following:

    • For Name, enter a name for the secret.
    • For Value, enter the secret value.
    • For Confirm Value, enter the secret value again.

      πŸ“˜

      NOTE

      Secret names must consist of lower-case alphanumeric characters, dashes (-), or periods (.). Secret names must also start and end with an alphanumeric character, and can't have two non-alphanumeric characters next to each other.

  3. Choose OK. The secret appears in the list. The value is hidden by an icon of a lock, which indicates that it is a secret. It can take up to 60 seconds before the secret appears in other places in the TDP.

Edit a Secret

To edit a Secret, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, find the secret that you want to edit.
  2. In the far right of the secret's row, choose Settings. Then, select Edit. The Edit secret dialog appears.
  3. In the Edit secret dialog, enter the following:
    • For New Value, enter a new secret value.
    • For Confirm New Value, enter the new secret value again.
  4. Choose Save.

Delete a Secret

To delete a Secret, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, find the secret that you want to delete.
  2. In the far right of the secret's row, choose Settings. Then, select Remove. A dialog appears that prompts you to confirm that you want to delete the secret.
  3. Choose Delete.

View Secret Usage

To see where a secret is used, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, find the secret that you want to review usage for.
  2. In the USAGES column of the secret's row, select the [#] usages link. The Shared Setting Usage dialog appears and displays where the secret is being used.
  3. (Optional) To access the resource using the secret, select the resource's name in the NAME column.

View a Secret's Edit History

To view the history of edits made to a secret, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, find the secret that you want to review the edit history for.
  2. In the VALUE column, select the (Edited [#] times) link. The Audit Trail page appears and displays the secret's edit history. If the secret hasn't been edited, no link appears.

Manage Shared Settings

You can manage Shared Settings on the Shared Settings page by doing any of the following.

Add a Shared Setting

To add a Shared Setting, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, select the Add Shared Settings Item button. The Add a new shared settings item dialog appears.
  2. In the Add a new shared settings item dialog, enter the following:
    • For Name, enter a name for the shared setting.
    • In the blank text field below, enter a value for the Shared Setting.

πŸ“˜

NOTE

The shared setting must consist of lower-case alphanumeric characters, dashes (-), periods (.), or underscores (_). Shared settings must also start and end with an alphanumeric character, and can't have two non-alphanumeric characters next to each other.

  1. Choose OK. The Shared Setting appears in the list. It can take up to 60 seconds before the Shared Setting appears in other places in the TDP.

Edit a Shared Setting

To edit a Shared Setting, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, find the Shared Setting that you want to edit.
  2. In the far right of the Shared Setting's row, choose Settings. Then, select Edit. The Edit shared settings item dialog appears.
  3. Select the Edit button. Then, edit the Shared Setting.
  4. Choose Save.

Delete a Shared Setting

To delete a Shared Setting, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, find the Shared Setting that you want to delete.
  2. In the far right of the Shared Setting's row, choose Settings. Then, select Remove. A dialog appears that prompts you to confirm that you want to delete the Shared Setting.
  3. Choose Delete.

View Shared Setting Usage

To see where a Shared Setting is used, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, find the Shared Setting that you want to review usage for.
  2. In the USAGES column of the Shared Setting's row, select the [#] usages link. The Shared Setting Usage dialog appears and displays where the Shared Setting is being used.
  3. (Optional) To access the resource using the Shared Setting, select the resource's name in the NAME column.

View a Shared Setting's Edit History

To view the history of edits made to a Shared Setting, do the following:

  1. On the Shared Settings page, find the Shared Setting that you want to review the edit history for.
  2. In the VALUE column, select the (Edited [#] times) link. The Audit Trail page appears and displays the secret's edit history. If the Shared Setting hasn't been edited, no link appears.